USGBC announces their Top 10 Green Bills for 2009

Posted by Expert Gadget Reviewer on Thursday, 25 February 2010

The United States Green Building Council (USGBC) has released its Top 10 Green Bills for 2009. Topping the list is the ubiquitous American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (aka the Stimulus Bill).

Courtesy of various sources, the USGBC highlighted the following pieces of pending legislation:

House Legislation

•The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, Public Law
•The American Clean Energy and Security Act, Henry Waxman (D-Calif.) and Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
•The 21st Century Green High-Performing Public School Facilities Act, Chandler (D-Ky.)
•The Expanding Building Efficiency Act, Dave Reichert (R-Wash.)
•The Property Assessed Clean Energy Tax Benefits Act, John Sarbanes (D-Md.)
•Act to Enhance Private Financing for Clean Energy Technology Deployment, Steve Israel (D-N.Y.)
•The Energy Efficiency Modernization Act of 2009, Mary Jo Kilroy (D-Ohio)
•The Water Accountability Tax Efficiency Reinvestment (WATER) Act, Michael Coffman (R-Colo.)
•The Livable Communities Act of 2010, Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.), pending introduction
•The Federal Personnel Training Act of 2010, Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.), pending introduction

Senate Legislation

•The Clean Energy and American Jobs Act, John Kerry (D-Mass.) and Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.)
•The American Clean Energy and Leadership Act, Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)
•Energy Efficiency in Housing Act (EEHA) of 2009, Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.)
•The Livable Communities Act of 2009, Christopher Dodd (D-Conn.)
•The Expanding Building Efficiency Incentives Act of 2009, Snowe (R-Maine)
•The School Building Fairness Act, Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
•Clean Energy for Homes and Buildings Act of 2009, Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.) and Richard Lugar (R-Ind.)
•The Energy Efficiency Modernization Act of 2009, Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
•The Water Accountability Tax Efficiency Reinvestment (WATER) Act of 2009, Mark Udall (D-Colo.)
•The Federal Agency Energy Efficiency Improvement Act of 2009, Susan Collins (R-Maine)